Larne Golf Club

Top Quality Hotels Guest Houses
Londonderry Arms Hotel Aaranmore Lodge
Ramada Portrush Avarest Town House
Templeton Hotel Brown's Country House
Bayview Hotel Valley View Country House
The Old Inn Abercorn House
Self-Catering Restaurants
Mullarts Apartments Londonderry Arms Hotel
Lurig Holiday Cottages  
Blackhead Lightkeepers Houses  
Bed & Breakfast  
The Burn  
Craig Cottage  
Whitepark House  
Colliers Hall  
Montalto House  
Anvershiel House  
19th Hole  
Londonderry Arms Hotel  


Address 54 Ferris Bay Road
Islandmagee, Larne
Co. Antrim BT40 3RJ
Telephone: 028-93-382228
Public No: 028-93-382228
Fax: 028-93-382088
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Founded: 1895
Membership: 249
Green Fees Midweek: £15 
Green Fees Weekends & B.H.: £17.50
Green Fees With a Member: £10/£12.50
Green Fees For Opens: £10
Practice Area: Yes
Club Hire: No
Buggy Hire: Trolley
Soft spikes: No
Secretary/Manager: Lisa Oldfield
Captain: Kenny McDowell
Lady Captain: Maureen Davison
President: Raymond Craig
Vice-Captain: K. Thomas & E. Craig
Hon. Secretary: Ken Hedley & Irene Howie
Club Pro: None
Hon. Treasurer: I. Johnston & Jennifer Williamson
Designed by: George Baillie
Course opening hours: Daylight hours
Clubhouse opening hours: 12.00am to 11.30pm
Mobile phones: Not on course or in clubhouse
Dress Code: Neat casual, no denim
Catering: Full catering facilities
Days to Avoid: Fridays & Saturdays
Green Fees and Societies Welcome: Other days
Pre-booking for open tournaments: 14 Days in advance

Course Description

This fine 9-hole course is best described as part parkland part links measuring 6,288 yards with a par of 70 and a standard scratch to match. To give an idea of the quality of the course the Ulster Professional Championship was played here in 1989 when David Feherty recorded rounds of 65, 64, 68 and 65 to win the Championship by a huge 18-shots and recorded a new course record, which stands to this day.

The golf course is located on a headland reaching out into the Irish Sea on the southern end of Islandmagee peninsula and is bounded on either side by the sandy beaches of Ferris Bay and Brownsbay. It has panoramic views of the famous Antrim Coast and, on a clear day the golfer can see across to the west coast of Scotland. The course overlooks the mouth of Larne Lough and the port.

The course can lull the golfer into misjudging the challenge of the course, with the opening five holes being not too demanding but the closing holes are especially difficult particularly when the prevailing westerly wind is blowing. The feature holes are the short Par-3 7th "The Bell" only 100 yards is played from an elevated tee over water to a green bordered by the sea on two sides. This is followed by the 417 yards Par-4, which Fred Daly rated as one of the best holes in Ireland. Called the "Whines" it has the ocean all the way down the right and gorse down the right.The visitor is always extended a warm Ulster welcome at Larne golf club and will leave with the memory of playing one of the finest 9-hole courses to be found anywhere.


Open & Major Fixtures 2011
See Event Calendar here.

Club History

Instituted 1894 affiliated 1895Before 1894, a few golfers enjoyed the privilege of playing their golf at a private links at Kilwaughter Castle Park owned by J. Galt-Smith. When land became available nearer home, a meeting was called in October-November, 1894, and a committee was elected. They were Mr. William Rankin, Captain, Mr. Alfred Fisher, Vice-Captain, Mr. John F. Cousins, Hon. Secretary and Mr. W. N. Brown, Treasurer.

They secured land from Mr. N. Holmes at Islandmagee and got sponsorship from the Belfast & Northern Railway of £20 for five years.Mr. G. L. Baillie, a founder-member of the Royal Belfast, laid out the nine-hole course, the design of the clubhouse was donated by Mr. J. F. Peddie, of Knock Golf Club, and the first ball was driven by Col. James McCalmont, M. P. on 1st June, 1895. It had a membership of 210 and the annual subscription was one guinea.It would appear that the club went into decline for a period, as The Golfers " Blue Book", 1939, gives a founding date of 1929.


Members Achievements

The Ladies of Larne Golf Club won the All-Ireland Seniors Foursomes at Athlone Golf Club on 30th September 2007 when they beat Donabate Golf Club by 2 matches to 1 match. They beat Galway Golf Club by a similar margin in the All-Ireland Semi-Final.

he Ladies' of Larne Golf Club won the E. A. L. in 1998 and 2000.

The Ladies' of Larne Golf Club won the Philpott Trophy in 1976, when the team was, Morag Craig, Hilda Gray, Irene Nevin, Maureen Robinson, Ann Hedley, Ann Laing, Gail Robinson and Rea Pink.

Carol Holden and Dianne McNeilly won the Provincial Pairs in the Huzzar Ladies Foursomes in 1987.

Roma English was selected on the Irish Senior Ladies team for the first time Ireland played in the European Senior Ladies' Team Championship at the Schonenberg Golf Club in Switzerland from the 3rd to the 7th of September 2001. She was also on the team that played England at Woodbrook Golf Club on 21st and 22nd October 2001.

Lesley Callen was on the Irish Ladies International Team in 1990.

Gail Robinson played for the Irish Girls in 1977.


Card of the Course
Card of the Course (yards)
Name Hole No White Par Index Red Par Index
Maidens 1 513 5 13 507 5 7
Purdon's Gap 2 289 4 15 279 4 15
Road Hole 3 436 4 5 430 5 13
The Paps 4 370 4 9 329 4 5
The Bay 5 371 4 7 366 4 1
Chasm 6 438 4 1 438 5 9
The Bell 7 102 3 17 102 3 17
Whins 8 399 4 3 378 4 3
Ferris Bay 9 158 3 11 164 3 11
  Out 3,076 35   2,993 37  
Maidens 10 452 5 2 449 5 6
Purdon's Gap 11 294 4 16 286 4 16
Road Hole 12 371 4 8 366 4 8
The Paps 13 353 4 10 349 4 4
The Bay 14 390 4 8 382 4 2
Chasm 15 505 5 14 424 5 12
The Bell 16 116 3 18 102 3 18
Whins 17 418 4 4 418 5 14
Ferris Bay 18 188 3 12 159 3 10
  In 3,087 35   2,935 37  
  Total 6,163 70   5,928 74  
  SSS 70     73    

Roll of Honour
H. Robinson 1989 Ladies Captain
C. Kerr 1990 Ladies Captain
J. Kerr 1991 Ladies Captain
J. Robinson 1992 Ladies Captain
M. Craig 1993 Ladies Captain
M. Craig 1994 Ladies Captain
L. English 1995 Ladies Captain
S. Hill 1996 Ladies Captain
C. Holden 1997 Ladies Captain
C. McMaw 1998 Ladies Captain
M. Montgomery 1999 Ladies Captain
Miss R. English 2000 Ladies Captain
Mrs. V. Carmichael 2001 Ladies Captain
Mrs. B. Wilson 2002 Ladies Captain
Mrs. M. Gray 2003 Ladies Captain
Mrs. J. Mearns 2004 Ladies Captain
Barbara O'Neill 2005 Ladies Captain
Irene Howie 2006 Ladies Captain
Margaret Patterson 2007 Ladies Captain
J. A. Leitch 1989 Men's Captain
W. Gilchrist 1990 Men's Captain
B. D. Stewart 1991 Men's Captain
K. J. Hedley 1992 Men's Captain
J. C. Mearns 1993 Men's Captain
G. S. Hobson 1994 Men's Captain
J. Hill 1995 Men's Captain
Alan E. Phair 1996 Men's Captain
J. R. Tate 1997 Men's Captain
W. J. Patterson 1998 Men's Captain
J. Stewart 1999 Men's Captain
Charles Hanna 2000 Men's Captain
Philip O'Neill 2001 Men's Captain
Dave Farley 2002 Men's Captain
Mr. G. McClean 2003 Men's Captain
J. G. Hatrick 2004 Men's Captain
Eric Dalzell 2005 Men's Captain
D. W. Craig 2006 Men's Captain
R. I. Johnston 2007 Men's Captain
J. Brown 1990 President
J. Brown 1991 President
N. McAuley 1992 President
N. McAuley 1993 President
I. Brown 1994 President
I. Brown 1995 President
J. Stewart 1996 President
J. Stewart 1997 President
J. Stewart 1998 President
H. G. Stockham 1999 President
G. S. Hobson 2000 President
G. S. Hobson 2001 President
G. S. Hobson 2002 President
Ken C. Barr 2003 President
Ken C. Barr 2004 President
Ken C. Barr 2005 President
Freddie Johnston 2006 President
Freddie Johnston 2007 President

© Golfing Ireland