Cruit Island Golf Club

Course Facts:
Address Kincasslagh Secretary/Manager: Jimmy Bonner
Carrickfin Captain: Charles O'Donnell
Co. Donegal Lady Captain: Bríd Mulhern
Telephone: 074-9543296 President: Dr. Peter Sweeney
Public No: 074-9543296 Vice-Captain: Declan Gillespie
Fax: 074-9548028    
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Club Pro: None
Founded: 1986 Designed by: Nature
Open for membership. Societies are welcome and group rates are available.
Membership: 155 Course opening hours: Daylight hours
Green Fees Midweek: €25 Clubhouse opening hours: 10.00am to dusk
Green Fees Weekends & B.H.: €25 Mobile phones: Not on course or in clubhouse
Green Fees With a Member: €15 Dress Code: Neat casual, no denim
Green Fees For Opens: €15 Catering: Full catering facilities
Practice Area: Yes Days to Avoid: Sunday mornings
Club Hire: No Green Fees and Societies Welcome: Other days
Buggy Hire: No Pre-booking for open tournaments: 14 Days in advance
Soft spikes: No    


Course Description
Course Description:

Cruit Island is a unique 9 hole links course with stunning scenery surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean on all sides accessible only bridge, which joins it to village of Kincasslagh. Cruit has 12 tee boxes and feature holes are definitely 137 metres 6th 145 15th par 3s where you hit over deep cove green sheer drop into for anybody who clubs.

What the scribes said:

"Cruit Island Golf Club is a stunningly beautiful nine-hole... The view from there is fantastic: all rocks, outer islands, turbulent seas beating on the battered coastline and vast expanses of sky stretching away to Newfoundland...It has one hole that says very simply, eat your hearth out Pebble Beach. It would be worth going to Cruit simply for the sixth." From Beyond the Fairways, The past present and future of golf, by David and Patricia Davies.

"One of the dream places of the world" German Golf Magazine 1999"

The 7th ... It's a hole that on any other course would be celebrated in song and verse. Alas at Cruit it's merely the hole after the magical sixth." The Golf Digest Connecticut U.S.A. 2002.

The visitor is assured of a warm welcome and memorable game golf well worth the journey down narrow road. Founded in 1986 Cruit Island is now one of the finest 9 hole courses Ireland. It has distinction being first club to have a Lady President, ladies are full and integral part this boasts beautiful new clubhouse.

Open & Major Fixtures 2011
See Event Calendar here.

Club History
Club History

Founded 1986.

Members Achievements

The Ladies of Cruit Island won the Donegal Shield in 1999, when the team was Sheila Doherty, Bridie Doherty, Noreen Cave, Mary Cowley, Ann T. Doherty, Mari McGonagle, Brid Baska, Angela O'Marcaigh and Pauline Comack.Marie McGonagle and Ann T. Doherty won the Huzzar Vodka Ulster Ladies Foursomes in 1989.

The Ladies of Cruit Island Golf continued their success in the Volkswagen-Irish Independent Lady Captain's Classic when they went to Co. Sligo Golf Club in August 2002. Lady Captain Mary Cowley (26) and her Captains Prize Winner Bridie Doherty (19) qualified for the National Finals of the Classic with 26 points.

Cruit Island who would have an average of less than 20 ladies playing competitive golf on any given day, had a wonderful win at Co. Sligo Golf Club. Lady Captain 2001, Pauline Comack and her Captain's prize winner Angela O'Marcaigh were leading qualifiers in the Volkswagen-Irish Independent Lady Captain's Classic in late August. With only 50 lady members the two ladies headed to Druid's Glen for the National Final with a score of 38 points. Pauline off 38 and Angela off 15 were delighted with their success. Pauline said later, "When you have as many shots as I have you don't have to worry about getting birdies. We didn't have one all day but we did have some solid pars. We just kept our heads and didn't get too upset when we hit a crisis."

Card of the Course
Card of the Course (metres)
Hole No White Par Index Red Par Index
1 394 4 1 272 4 14
2 386 4 3 296 4 2
3 302 4 13 270 4 4
4 318 4 5 258 4 12
5 256 4 17 237 4 15
6 137 3 15 123 3 8
7 293 4 7 260 4 6
8 195 3 11 150 3 17
9 289 4 9 255 4 10
Out 2,570 34   2,121 34  
10 387 4 2 355 4 1
11 386 4 4 290 4 3
12 302 4 14 270 4 5
13 318 4 6 258 4 13
14 256 4 18 237 4 16
15 145 3 16 123 3 9
16 293 4 8 260 4 7
17 195 3 12 127 3 18
18 289 4 10 255 4 11
In 2,571 34   2,175 34  
Total 5,141 68   4,296 68  
SSS 66     66    

Roll of Honour
Anne T. Doherty 1989 Ladies Captain
Paddy Sweeney 1989 Men's Captain
Fr. D. O'Doherty 1989 President
Kathleen Boyle 1990 Ladies Captain
Jim Boyle 1990 Men's Captain
Frank Doherty 1990 President
Bridie Doherty 1991 Ladies Captain
Seamus Doherty 1991 Men's Captain
Frank Doherty 1991 President
Jackie Cadger 1992 Ladies Captain
Hugh Gillespie 1992 Men's Captain
Frank Doherty 1992 President
Berni Gallagher 1993 Ladies Captain
Paddy Farren 1993 Men's Captain
Frank Doherty 1993 President
Sylvia McBride 1994 Ladies Captain
James Gillespie 1994 Men's Captain
Eileen Oglesby 1994 President
Geraldine Doherty 1995 Ladies Captain
Joseph Gillespie 1995 Men's Captain
Eileen Oglesby 1995 President
Noreen Farren 1996 Ladies Captain
Dermot Devenney 1996 Men's Captain
Eileen Oglesby 1996 President
Aingeal O'Marcaigh 1997 Ladies Captain
Pat Gallagher 1997 Men's Captain
Eileen Oglesby 1997 President
Jo Dunleavy 1998 Ladies Captain
Joe McBride 1998 Men's Captain
Hugh Gillespie 1998 President
Carmel Bonner 1999 Ladies Captain
Eugene Sharkey 1999 Men's Captain
Hugh Gillespie 1999 President
Brid Baska 2000 Ladies Captain
Frank Kelly 2000 Men's Captain
Hugh Gillespie 2000 President
Pauline Comack 2001 Ladies Captain
Vincent Bonner 2001 Men's Captain
Hugh Gillespie 2001 President
Mary Cowley 2002 Ladies Captain
Eugene McGarvey 2002 Men's Captain
Gerald McElwee 2002 President
Marie McGonagle 2003 Ladies Captain
Terence Gallagher 2003 Men's Captain
Gerard McElwee 2003 President
Celine Markey 2004 Ladies Captain
Eddie Crawford 2004 Men's Captain
Gerard McElwee 2004 President
Margaret Johnson 2005 Ladies Captain
Connie McKelvey 2005 Men's Captain
Gerard McElwee 2005 President
Noreen McGarvey 2006 Ladies Captain
Jimmy O’Donnell 2006 Men's Captain
Gerard McElwee 2006 President
Angela O’Marcaigh 2007 Ladies Captain
Packie McHugh 2007 Men's Captain
Gerard McElwee 2007 President
Recommended Adjacent Accommodation, Food & Drink for Golf, Business and Pleasure
Click on the Links below for more information and company web-sites.
Top Quality Hotels

Guest Houses

Bed & Breakfast



19th Hole

Other Sites of Interest

Caisleain Oir          The Mill Gort Na Mona B&B Kieran Gallagher Caisleain Oir Caisleain Oir Dunfanaghy Stables
Lake House Hotel Moorland Guesthouse Carrigan House Gardrum Self-Catering The Lobster Pot Restaurant The Lobster Pot Bar Magee of Donegal
Nesbitt Arms Hotel Teac Campbell The Village Tavern   Turntable Restaurant The Wheelhouse Bar Stephen Bennett Artist
Arnolds Hotel Woodhill House Rosman House   Captain's Table Restaurant Weavers Bar & Bistro Blueflag Beaches
Tara Hotel   The Whins   Kitty Kelly's Restaurant The Clock Tower Donegal Ancestry
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre       The Clock Tower Station 59 Bar Donegal Holiday Guide
        Weavers Restaurant    
        The Mill Restaurant    

© Golfing Ireland